Architect: yes and no. How to choose the right professional.

Ten years ago, we moved our atelier from Italy to Switzerland. Soon we learned that the Swiss are very much attracted by Italian art, much more than we had had the chance to see previously as visitors. We could see the interest of the most requiring among our would-be clients. However, when they look for guidance and support in creating an environment that represents them, making sure it brings all the comfort they desire, owners of luxury real estate turn to consultants such as architects and interior designers. Continue reading "Architect: yes and no. How to choose the right professional."

Covering Irregular Surfaces Is a Headache: How to Make It Go Away

Lately we have been called by an architect with a somewhat unusual request by one of his clients. While discussing the renovation of his villa – a luxurious building with some retro flavour, on the shore of a lake – the client pulled out a catalogue of whirlpool tubs, with a wide choice of models, such as we are now used to see in most specialised shops. The architect told us that the master bath in the villa is itself some kind of a monument to luxury: as big as your average drawing room, sporting four windows on three sides, it looks upon the garden of the villa, and the lake just beyond. Continue reading "Covering Irregular Surfaces Is a Headache: How to Make It Go Away"

Making mosaic with broken tiles is always a bad idea: here is why

We are often asked the same question by people who approach art mosaic for the first time: "Can you make me a mosaic with the leftover tiles, with the tiles I recovered, or that were given to me?" Our answer is always invariably the same: "No". In this post we shall explain the reasons why what appears to many as a good idea, is in fact a very bad one. Continue reading "Making mosaic with broken tiles is always a bad idea: here is why"

Do not let anybody choose your coatings. Hunt away boredom, and avoid the most common mistakes!

After the divorce, Mrs Adriana lived on her own. She worked full-time in her own perfumery, which was well on its way, and allowed her an easy, carefree life. Every evening, upon coming home, she relaxed by filling the bathtub and spending some twenty minutes in the water. Night after night, Adriana was having enough of staring at the same boring white wall. It had been her ex-husband's choice. Once again Adriana wondered why had she married a man so devoid of imagination. Yet she loved elegant, exclusive things; things he was totally incapable of understanding. Along the years, some of the tiles had come off; and where they had been replaced, you could tell the difference. How ugly, such a nameless wall ...but it wasn't her fault, Adriana thought; she shouldn't have let her husband in charge of everything. Had she had her way, there would be...0009-1-venere Yes! This is what I need, thought Adriana. I am still young and good-looking, she said to herself resolutely. I want the wall of my bathroom to carry a reproduction of the most beautiful lady, in the most beautiful bath setting of them all! This is what Mrs Adriana was thinking, as she called us to order a mosaic for her bathroom. Upon her request we designed Botticelli's «Venus», with the goddess of beauty being born from the foam of the waves of the sea. Continue reading "Do not let anybody choose your coatings. Hunt away boredom, and avoid the most common mistakes!"

Coatings for the Elite

New aesthetic trends in residential buildings are revolutionising the way in which house owners think and achieve the decoration of the living spaces. Even here in Switzerland, the times of the "grey boxes" are over: they are going out of fashion. The customer of a new building wants it to express his character. This leads to a growing interest in mosaic. Continue reading "Coatings for the Elite"

How to turn your ordinary bathroom in an exclusive wellness environment: The Stones that Heal

by Stefano Toria and Luciano Bonzini I am always happy to return to Liguria, the land in which my wife was born, and where I feel at home, as if I had been adopted. It has not to do only with the sea; the Ligurian land lives half way between reality and fantasy. A land with hard-working people and dreamlike landscapes, with whitewashed walls crawling all the way down to the sea besides the flagstone-paved «crêuze». Town centres with their typical endless «carruggi» full of perfumes beckoning you to go discover, or again colourful and tasteful foods with strong-sounding names: fugàssa, gianchetti, fainà, pignêu. IMG_3489 copia One walks round a dark corner at the border of a square, and is blinded by a dazzling light, with the strong scent of the sea at hand. One more corner, and under one’s feet is a «rissêu», of breath-taking beauty. Continue reading "How to turn your ordinary bathroom in an exclusive wellness environment: The Stones that Heal"

Exclusive Art

Each of us has an individual relationship with art. In the past it has been a pleasure for the few; along the twentieth century, artistic movements have emerged with an agenda of opposing to this elitist idea of art. One such movement has been the pop art of the 1950s in the UK, and mostly of the 1960s in the US. Artists the likes of Robert Rauschenberg or Jasper Johns have started the movement, and world-famous people like Roy Lichtenstein and Andy Warhol have taken it to be known by the public. Indeed this was the point of the movement, the “popular art”. Works such as Warhol’s Campbell Soup tins, or Lichtenstein’s Happy Tears, have been reproduced in millions of copies and are appreciated by art lovers of all kinds; many have them hanging from the walls at home, making them into “popular” art strictly speaking. Almost in contrast to this extreme divulgation, a completely opposite way of conceiving art has developed at the same time. We might say it “revived”, because in a way it is like going back to the source. I’m talking of exclusive art. cappella_sistina   Continue reading "Exclusive Art"

Investing in art; choosing an artwork

At the present time, the art market is particularly lively. Investors diversify their investments: besides real estate and stock capital, they are also interested in works of art, seeking the advice of experts. Normally the investment consists of buying an art object by an established, well-known author; or else, the collector follows his own taste or aesthetic requirement. However, it can happen that one specific artwork is bought, without knowing its lastingness. What happens to the investment in such case? Will the artwork stay reasonably unaltered in time? and consequently, will the investment keep its value? HODR2343 Continue reading "Investing in art; choosing an artwork"

Which Colour? Five Secret Tips for a Correct Choice

Combining colours is an art. Some fail completely at it, while others find shelter in black and white, just to go safe; genarations of Italian children remember their mothers' shouts, "Go and get changed! You cannot go out with a red anorak on orange trousers!!"

When it comes to choosing artworks to be combined with the furniture in your home, you have the same problem--if not worse. Because if you wear the wrong coat, all you need to do is go back home and get another one; but if you fail the combination of colours in the decoration of your home, you've got to keep it the way it is (or spend more money to change).

So let's see the five secrets you need to know to make the right choice of colours, so that you don't have to give up an aesthetic experience for fear of going wrong. Continue reading "Which Colour? Five Secret Tips for a Correct Choice"

Architecte oui, architecte non. Comment choisir le juste professionnel.

Il y a dix ans, nous avons transféré notre atelier d'Italie en Suisse. Nous découvrîmes que les suisses s'intéressent à l'art italienne, beaucoup plus que l'on avait remarqué auparavant, en tant que simples visiteurs. Nous avons eu l'occasion d'apprécier l'intérêt des plus exigeants d'entre nos clients potentiels. Cependant, les propriétaires d'immeubles haut de gamme préfèrent s'adresser à de conseillers tels qu'architectes, décorateurs d'intérieur, professionnels du design, afin d'avoir un bon leadership et un support pour créer des environnements qui les représentent, et lui garantissent le confort qu'ils cherchent. Continue la lecture "Architecte oui, architecte non. Comment choisir le juste professionnel."

Revêtir les surfaces inégales est une migraine : voilà comment s’en débarrasser

Récemment nous avons été approchés par un architecte qui nous a posé une question un peu étrange de la part d'un de ses clients. En discutant la restructuration de sa villa – un bâtiment somptueux en un style un peu rétro, au bord d'un lac – le client a sorti un catalogue de bains à remous, avec un vaste choix de ces produits qu'on est habitués à voir un peu partout dans les magasins de fournitures de plomberie, ou de construction, ou bien encore de bricolage. La salle de bains principale, disait-nous l'architecte, est en soi un monument au luxe : autant grande que le salon de plusieurs autres maisons, avec quatre fenêtres sur trois côtés, avec vue sur le jardin de la villa, et au-delà du jardin sur le lac peu loin. Continue la lecture "Revêtir les surfaces inégales est une migraine : voilà comment s’en débarrasser"

Ne laisse pas quelqu’un d’autre choisir tes revêtements. Comment chasser l’ennui, et éviter les erreurs plus communes.

Dès son divorce, Madame Adriana vivait seule. Possédant une parfumerie bien en cours, elle n’avait aucun souci. Chaque soir, ayant fermé sa boutique, elle se rendait chez elle, et se relaxait pendant une vingtaine de minutes dans le bain. Nuit après nuit, Adriana était de plus en plus lasse de se voir devant soi la même ennuyeuse paroi blanche carrelée. C’était un choix de son ex-mari. Encore une fois, Adriana se questionna pourquoi avait-elle épousé un homme autant dépourvu d’imagination. Tout au contraire d’elle-même, qui aimait tout ce qui est élégant et exclusif : tout ce qu’il n’était pas capable de comprendre. En plus, au cours des années quelques carreaux s’étaient détachées, et l’on voyait bien la différence là où ils avaient été collés à nouveau. Cette paroi anonyme était vraiment laide ...mais ce n’était pas de sa faute, pensa Adriana ; elle n’aurait pas dû laisser tout faire à son mari. Au lieu de ces carreaux blancs, il y aurait...0009-1-venere Mais oui ! voilà l’idée qu’il me faut ! Je suis encore jeune et charmante, se dit-elle Adriana. Je vais me faire faire sur la paroi du bain, une reproduction de la plus charmante femme dans le plus beau bain qu’il y ait ! Tout cela pensait Madame Adriana, quand elle nous chercha pour nous commander une mosaïque pour son bain. Pour elle, nous projetâmes la « Venus » de Botticelli, avec la déesse de la beauté qui nait de l’écume des ondes de la mer. Continue la lecture "Ne laisse pas quelqu’un d’autre choisir tes revêtements. Comment chasser l’ennui, et éviter les erreurs plus communes."

Revêtements exclusifs

Les nouvelles tendances dans l'esthétique des immeubles d'habitation vont révolutionner la façon de laquelle les propriétaires de maisons pensent et réalisent la décoration des milieux. Le temps des « boîtes grises » va passer, même ici en Suisse. Ceux qui vont se bâtir une maison, s'attendent à qu'elle exprime la personnalité de ceux qui l'habitent. C'est pourquoi l'intérêt vers la mosaïque est en train d'augmenter. Continue la lecture "Revêtements exclusifs"

Art et exclusivité

Chacun d'entre nous a un rapport individuel avec l'art. Autrefois était-il un plaisir réservé à tout peux ; au cours du vingtième siècle on a vu s'affirmer des mouvements artistiques qui par programme s'opposaient à cette idée élitaire d'art. Un exemple est la pop art des années '50 en Angleterre, et surtout des années '60 aux USA. Démarrée par d'artistes comme Robert Rauschenberg ou Jasper Johns, elle a été divulgée entre le grand public per les plus célèbres, tels que Roy Lichtenstein et Andy Warhol. Car le but du mouvement était exactement cela, dès son nom, l'art populaire. Œuvres telles que les boîtes de soupe Campbell's par Warhol, ou Happy Tears par Lichtenstein ont été reproduites en millions d'exemplaires et appréciées par d'estimateurs de tout genre; beaucoup de gens les ont pendues aux parois de chez soi, en en faisant des œuvres « populaires » dans le vrai sens du nom. Quasi pour s'opposer à cette extrème vulgarisation, au même temps s'est-elle affirmée une façon tout différente de concevoir l'art. On pourrait dire qu'elle s'est « affirmée à nouveau », parce qu'il s'agit en effet d'un retour aux origines : c'est à dire, l'art comme exclusivité. cappella_sistina   Continue la lecture "Art et exclusivité"

Comment transformer une normale salle de bain en un «wellness» exclusif, soit les pierres qui guérissent

par Stefano Toria et Luciano Bonzini Je reviens toujours volontiers en Ligurie, la région où ma femme est née, et où je me sens chez moi, comme adopté. Ce n'est pas que la mer ; la terre ligurienne vit à mi-chemin entre réalité et fantasie, entre gens qui travaillent dur et paysages rêvants, de murs qui descendent vers la mer à côté des crêuze, les sentes pavées en pierres, de «carruggi», ruelles infinies pleines d'arômes à découvrir, de plats aux noms retentissants, fugàssa et gianchetti et fainà et pignêu. IMG_3489 copia On tourne le coin obscur qui mène au bord d'une place, et au fond brille une lumiàre aveuglante ; et la mer nous renverse avec ses odeurs. On en tourne un autre, et sous les pieds on se trouve un «rissêu», d'une beauté à couper le souffle. Continue la lecture "Comment transformer une normale salle de bain en un «wellness» exclusif, soit les pierres qui guérissent"

Investir en œuvres d’art ; comment choisir une œuvre

A présent le marché de l’art est particulièrement vif. Les investisseurs distinguent leurs investissements : en plus d’immeubles et biens mobiliers, on achète aussi des œuvres d’art, suivant les conseils d’experts du secteur. Souvent l’investissement est orienté à acheter une œuvre d’un artiste reconnu et célèbre ;  ou bien, on achète selon son propre goût et exigence esthétique. Cependant peut-il arriver de choisir une œuvre dont on ne connait pas la résistance au temps. Que va-t-il arriver à l’investissement dans ce cas ? L’œuvre, va-t-elle demeurer raisonnablement inaltérée dans le temps ? et par conséquence, va-t-elle garder la valeur de l’investissement ? HODR2343 Continue la lecture "Investir en œuvres d’art ; comment choisir une œuvre"

Quelle couleur? Cinq secrets pour le bon choix

Jumeler les couleurs, c'est un art. Il y en a qui ratent totalement, et d'autres qui se cachent dans le noir-et-blanc, pour ne pas risquer; de générations d'enfants italiens se rappellent des engueulements de sa mère, "Va te changer, tu peux pas sortir avec le blouson rouge sur le pantalon orange!!"

Quand il s'agit de choisir les objets d'art pour la décoration de chez soi, le problème est le même, ou bien pire. Parce que si tu te trompes de couleur de blouson, tu peux rentrer et en prendre un autre; mais quand tu as raté la combinaison de couleurs de la décoration de ta maison, t'es forcé de la garder comme elle est (ou bien sortir encore de sous pour changer).

Voyons donc les cinq secrets qu'il faut connaître afin de bien choisir ses couleurs, et ne pas être forcés de renoncer à une expérience esthétique par peur de faire des erreurs. Continue la lecture "Quelle couleur? Cinq secrets pour le bon choix"

Les 4 règles pour choisir l’artiste / artisan

Tu as décidé de te faire faire une mosaïque, par exemple pour enrichir le manteau du foyer de la salle. Tu as déjà des idées sur ce que tu veux, et surtout sur ce que tu NE VEUX PAS. Il s’agira d’une œuvre abstraite ; pas de panorama ou de scène de chasse ou choses pareilles. Les couleurs seront délicates, pour se marier avec l’ameublement en bois clair et tissus pastel. Pour le reste, tu t’attends que l’artiste te conseille.

Donc tu dois choisir la juste personne.

Notre point de vue avantageux – nous sommes le premier atelier suisse de mosaïque pour l’architecture – nous a permis de nous faire une idée bien claire sur ce que nos clients cherchent dans un artiste auquel confier la réalisation d’une œuvre comme celle décrite ci-dessus. Continue la lecture "Les 4 règles pour choisir l’artiste / artisan"